Tuesday, December 16, 2008

Premier Schools Stamp

Premier Schools are schools that are over 100 years old which have been selected and awarded as cluster schools due to their achievements in the academic and co-curriculum fields. These schools have produced many national leaders, corporate figures, professionals, sportsman and scholars who have contributed significantly to the growth of Malaysia in this era of globalisation.

SMK St. Thomas

SMK St. Thomas is the oldest school in Sarawak. Founded in 1948 by Reverend Francis Thomas Mcdougall, St Thomas. This school was originally located at Sungei Sarawak. It subsequently moved to its present location known as College Hill situated in the center of Kuching City.

St. Thomas has created history for Sarawak by becoming a pioneer in many aspects and winning awards at the national level. In 2006, SMK St Thomas was officially recognised as a “Sekolah Lestari” due to it being an environment friendly school.

SMK Victoria

SMK Victoria, better known as Victoria Institution was officiated on 14th August 1893 by Mrs. Hood Treacher, wife of the then Resident of Selangor. SMK Victoria is today a five-star smart school and its 115 years of excellence has resulted in the school being selected as a cluster school in 2007.

SMK Convent Bukit Nanas

SMK Convent Bukit Nanas is a well-known premier girl’s school in Kuala Lumpur. Built in 1899, this school with its English Gothic architecture is situated on a two-acre site near the peak of Bukit nanas Forest Reserve.

SMK Bukit Nanas consistently excelled in the academic and co-curriculum fields. In 2007, this school was selected as a cluster school.

SM All Saints

SM All Saints was established as King Edward VII School on 22nd December 1903 and officiated by the Governor E. W. Birch. The new building was built in 1909 in Likas and was officiated by the the Governor Sir Ralph Hone.

SM All Saints has played a major role in the growth of education in Sabah and has been awarded as a premier school.

Technical Details

Date of Issue : 16th December 2008

Stamp Value : 50 sen (4 Designs)

Sheet Content : 20 Stamps

First Day Cover Value : 30 Sen

Paper : Watermarked SPM, Phosphor Coated

Printing Process : Lithography

Printer : Percetakan Keselamatan Nasional Sdn. Bhd.

Designer : Hazel Design


Alltop, all the top stories
All Malaysian Bloggers Project